Paulsen appointed Q.C.

Congratulations to Tiffany Paulsen on her recent appointment as Queen’s Counsel (Q.C.)

Eighteen Saskatchewan lawyers were honoured with Q.C. designations for 2009.

Queen’s Counsel is an honourary designation awarded to those recommended by a selection committee comprised of Saskatchewan’s Justice Minister and Attorney General, the Chief Justice of the Court of Appeal for Saskatchewan or the Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench (on an alternating basis), and the past presidents of the Saskatchewan branch of the Canadian Bar Association and the Law Society of Saskatchewan.

Appointees must live in Saskatchewan and must have practiced law for at least 10 years in the superior courts of any province or territory of Canada, or the United Kingdom or Ireland.

The practice of Q.C. appointments dates back to 1594 when Queen Elizabeth I appointed Sir Francis Bacon as her exclusive legal advisor and roving representative of the Crown. The first appointment in British North America was in 1815.

For more information click here.

Pereira published in the Advocate

Jenn Pereira’s article: A Practical Guide to ISO Applications, was published in the December 2009 issue of the Saskatchewan Advocate. Her paper provides advice to legal practitioners undertaking applications under the Interjurisdictional Support Orders Act.

The Saskatchewan Advocate is a quarterly publication of the Saskatchewan Trial Lawyers Association. Its purpose is to canvas new jurisprudence and trends in the law and provides practice tips and topics. The publication draws authors not only from Saskatchewan lawyers but from the bench, the medical profession, accountants, engineers, law professors and others.

To read a copy of Jenn’s article, click here.

Anderson, Gerspacher, Preston, Prosser and Young nominated as Best Lawyers

Congratulations to Kim Anderson, Melvin Gerspacher, Bill Preston, Les Prosser and Gary Young on their nominations as Best Lawyers in the areas of Insolvency and Financial Restructuring, Taxation, Construction, Corporate and Insurance respectively.

Inclusion in Best Lawyers is based on peer review, as it has been for the past 26 years, and the voting pool for existing categories consists of all lawyers who are currently listed. These listed lawyers are asked to vote on both current listees and new nominees in their specialties and metropolitan areas and/or  provinces, as well as to nominate additional lawyers.

Good luck!

Month: December 2009